It's just my desk, so there's no telling what you might find on it.

MyCricket(.)com | To Cricket or Not to Cricket

Do you have Cricket cell phone service? Are you considering it? Well, I’ve had it for about 1 1/2 years. I decided to go with them because I was sick of the Cingular and Verizon drama… unexplained charges and dropped service. I was fed up. I knew I would probably loose coverage in some areas, but since I wasn’t traveling as much, I wasn’t really worried about it. The only thing I was actually concerned about was customer service, and it’s clear my concerns were justified. 

I have Cricket’s cell phone service, as well as their broadband service. Considering their coverage area, the service isn’t completely awful. Now, customer service is another story. I have often had connection problems with both the cell phone and broadband services. Since I use a Verizon phone, the reps always blamed the issues on my phone. Once, I upgraded to one of their phones, and of course, I had the same issues. Without a doubt, I went back to my trusty Treo. The problems with their broadband service were just weird. Mostly, the connection was good. But, at specific times of every day, I would lose my connection. It would disconnect, then re-connect, then disconnect, then re-connect again. (monotonous I know… imagine how I felt). Imagine trying to write online with that going on. Then, the journey began.

I began calling customer non-service, and explaining the situation. Among my many phone calls, I only had one nice and responsive rep. The others attempted to blame my computer, or they would use the old standby line: ”We are having service problems in your area, and we are attempting to resolve the issue. We hope to have it resolved within 24 hours.” Months later, I still have the same issues. A couple of reps actually put me on hold until the center closed, which disconnected me from the system. Some just hung up on me. Others just read words from their script that had nothing to do with my problems. I’ve had service outages with different companies. Power outages with the electric company, and no phone service with landline phone companies. The difference is those companies credit your account when you’ve been without service. In some instances, like with a cable company, you may have to contact them but you’ll get a credit. I have even received credits (and apologies) from other cell phone companies; but not so with cricket. They actually have a rule to NOT give credits unless it is an extreme situation. So, I guess I have to go a straight month with absolutely no service for the situation to be extreme. So, what did I do?

I contacted the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and filed a complaint (haha). They contacted a specific corporate office, which then contacted my local corporate office. They called me and I received a new USB modem next day. But did I receive a credit? Nope. And these issues have gone on for months and months. Just like with everyone else, the rep just changed the subject. Several weeks later, someone else called to “see if all issues were resolved”. Oh please… credit my account appropriately and all issues will be resolved! She did credit back two connect charges, but that’s nothing compared to what I’ve paid out for no service. There are other choices for cell phone service out there, but there are few that charge a flat rate for monthly service. Knowing what you’ll pay every month for service is a lot less stressful than seeing a phone bill that’s 3 times higher than you expected. For that convenience, we have to expect a down side. In this case, the downside is this company’s customer service.

Currently, I’m still with Cricket. At present, I believe they are the lesser of many evils. I believe this type of phone company is very necessary, and it does save many people a lot of money. They do still have a few things to work on though. And one of those things is customer service. If they aren’t careful, another company is going to come along and snag many of their current customers.

UPDATE: I no longer have their broadband service as of June 2010!  Whew!

~~~~Thanks for reading!

One response

  1. These are comments from where this was previously posted:

    angel1 on 02 Jun 2009 at 9:51 am
    THe problems may be different with the different companies, but they all have drawbacks of some kind. I have Sprint and they gave me a plan with unlimited roaming and unlimited nights and weekends, but if I make a call that is roaming, no matter what time of day, it still comes off my anytime minutes and I live in a roaming area, so every call we make from home is roaming. The only solution they had to offer was a unlimited everything plan that would cost me almost $300 a month because we have 3 phones. Ughhh!

    missanita on 02 Jun 2009 at 12:24 pm
    Ugh indeed. I couldn’t even imagine paying $300/mo for any phone service, but unfortunately, many families do. Honestly, I couldn’t afford it if I wanted to. Yep, every company has some type of lacking area: customer service, plans, service area, etc. Most of them are relatively easy to live with. Other than Cricket, I have only used Cingular & Verizon. But I have thought about trying Sprint. But to have the same service, I’d have to pay more than twice as much. My biggest issue with other companies is service contracts. My biggest problem with Cricket cell service is the limited area, but they are growing. Weighing the good and the bad, the little bug is still the best choice for me… at least until something better comes along. BTW, thank you for reading and for your comments.

    kimmiecollas on 06 Jun 2009 at 1:47 pm
    Lord do I ever know what you mean . . . Between my husband and myself, we’ve used Sprint, Cingular, AT&T, and Verizon. We gave up and got a “burn” phone with VirginMobile, buying blocks of minutes monthly. So far, we haven’t had a single problem (knock wood.) It works for us, because we don’t use the phone much, most of our contacts are online; but it’s not really a practical solution if you make a lot of calls.

    missanita on 06 Jun 2009 at 4:33 pm
    Hi Kimmie! I completely get it… I almost went with VirginMobile or Boost mobile just to avoid the hassle. But since I don’t have a landline, the “bug” was the most reasonable choice for me. The good thing is that we do have a choice, so we don’t have to stay with those big, over-charging companies.
    Thank you very much for reading and for your comment.
    Miss Anita

    Like

    December 5, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Comments

