It's just my desk, so there's no telling what you might find on it.

State Farm: Are Auto Insurance Companies Prejudice?

Previously, I had a venting session about Cricket’s non-service, but now I want to talk about something that is very troubling to me.

The long arm of the law has forced every vehicle owner in this country to purchase auto insurance. Okay, on one level, maybe I can understand why. I mean, there are a lot of mega crazy drivers out there. But on another level, this was just a back door way to keep money and economic stability in the hands of the insurance companies.

Okay, it is what it is. As consumers, we are now forced to keep current auto insurance. But here’s the rub: Auto insurance companies have every right to mistreat us, scam us, and NOT follow through on their obligations.   At any point, they can say, “Sorry, we are not going to cover that, but your premium is now due.” What Kind of crap is this that insurance companies are never held liable for their actions or lack there of?

Insurance companies have all of the power.

Let me tell you a little about my recent experience. I had been insured with State Farm, specifically Chris Woodlee’s office, for a few years. This company, like many others, is “independently owned and operated”. Unfortunately for me, I was with an office that was full of drama. For the most part, the staff was nice enough. I met a couple of really nice agents there that ended up quickly leaving the office (I wonder why). However, I often felt a “you’re not good enough for us” attitude pouring out from random people in the way they spoke to me. This annoyed me.

A couple of months ago, my insurance was up for renewal. Initially, I was just going to switch offices. I found an office closer to me, and went to speak with the agent, Cathy S. Marks. I was not impressed with her “fakeness” that rolled off her like smoke.

She smiled and smiled in my face while planning other things behind my back. She informed me that I needed to go ahead and pay the current bill, and then they could switch my office. Does that even make sense? Why would that make sense if the offices are independent? I guess she thought I was stupid. I am often underestimated. She also said I should talk to the original agent about the situation. Why? Business is business and I have every right to go to the business of my choosing. She claimed she didn’t want to take one of his customers without talking to him. She said she has a professional respect for him. That’s wonderful! Too bad you don’t have any respect for your customers.

Later that evening, I received an email from Cathy stating she was very happy that I spoke with Chris and that we had come to an understanding. Now understand, I hadn’t spoken to anyone. That told me that this little winch was working behind my back. I wrote to both of them demanding to know what was going on. Chris eventually wrote back stating that Cathy did NOT want me as a customer, and did not want to insure me (he was stupid enough to put this in an email). The reality is than my fat, black behind, and my ‘95 van are not good enough for her office of “high status”. Whatever!! You’re a freakin’ barrel-scraping insurance agent… get a grip! Talk about me going “out of the frying pan and into the fire”!

Needless to say, I left State Farm, but I’m not finished with them yet. I was not the first to be treated that way, and I won’t be the last. I haven’t filed a complaint yet, but I will. Their behavior was completely unprofessional and inappropriate, but they do it on a regular basis. Why? Because they can. Insurance companies get away with all kinds of ridiculous behavior because they know consumers have no choice but to use them. That’s what the government has done for us. They have left us with our heads in a proverbial noose.

Some people don’t have a lot of choices when it comes to auto insurance. Past tickets, wrecks, or other incidents limit their choices to only a few. And because the law forces them to have auto insurance, they have to accept those few and deal with the consequences. Better quality insurance companies (if there is such a thing) often deny people that don’t have certain types of vehicles, or a certain financial or “appearance” status. So for us, it isn’t always as easy as just making the switch. So, what can we regular people do?

I wish I had the answer to that question. I am very angry about an insurance company having all of the power. This country is in a recession (or so I’m told), and insurance companies are the only ones with money. And the government has forced us to give it to them. We must give it to them regardless of how we are treated. It doesn’t matter if they reject every claim, give them the money. It doesn’t matter if they treat us inappropriately, give them the money. It doesn’t matter if they raise their rates for absolutely no reason, give them the money. It doesn’t matter if they drop is after making a payment, let them keep the money. We have ZERO rights when it comes to the helping hands of the insurance mogul, and we can thank the United States government for that. They have all the rights and no responsibilities. Snobby agents are encouraged to work for these companies, or maybe they’re just drawn to the field… like the snobby real estate agents.

If we don’t speak up, nothing will change. We are purchasing goods and services that we are forced to purchase, and we have no rights. We are more proactive when we get a bad sandwich at McDonald’s. WE have to find a way to take back control. Even I should have filed a complaint before now, but I didn’t. But that won’t be enough. We have to go higher… to the city and state governments and above. We have to speak up and out against the policies and treatment of these companies. If we don’t, who will?

Thank you for reading.

7 responses

  1. Reggie

    I went insurance shopping on a whim to compare home owner policies. I am in shock. State Farm has been charging me twice the amount I got with another large firm. I am puzzled and a little angry by the difference in the amounts for the very same coverge. I’m done with State Farm.

    Like

    January 10, 2013 at 8:43 am

    • Anita

      I am glad to hear you decided to shop around. Many people stick with the same company for years without checking other options. I have never had a homeowner policy with them, but my auto policies were usually cheaper than the alternatives. However, that also cost me service. Whenever my vehicle broke down, I couldn’t just call SF, and have everything taken care of. I had to call a tow service myself, and take care of everything on my own. That is another reason I left them. A minor one considering the major reasons I left, including prejudice. Congrats on getting away from that company. You will find that you’re much better off.

      Like

      January 10, 2013 at 4:35 pm

  2. Cathy Marks is disgusting and I feel your pain. I love State Farm and did change agents. Bill Hendrix has been pretty good. My story with Cathy is too long but she is the queen…or thinks she is. I have trashed her to everyone who will listen for 10 years or better.

    Like

    November 30, 2010 at 1:12 am

    • Miss Anita

      Agreed! I actually ended up switching to Amica, and the customer service has been wonderful! I thought about switching offices, but I was already on my 2nd, so I couldn’t see myself going for a 3rd with a company that supports people like that. Thanks so much for your comment!

      Like

      December 1, 2010 at 2:46 am

  3. Nice Post you have, i like it. I will visit this site more often.

    Thanks for the information.

    I like your article specially about
    State Farm: Are Auto Insurance Companies Prejudice?

    Cheers

    Like

    January 6, 2010 at 4:38 am

    • Miss Anita

      Thanks so much for your comment!

      Like

      January 8, 2010 at 2:52 am

  4. thanks for such a informative blog.keep posting…………

    Like

    December 15, 2009 at 7:30 am

Comments

