It's just my desk, so there's no telling what you might find on it.

New TV Shows and Movies: Have they given up?

The movie moguls have given up! What did she say? Yep… I said it! I believe that the powers-that-be in the media biz have given up.

It seems that, for the past few years, almost everything that has come out is a remake of an original TV show. Have they run out of ideas? The cheesy Batman show {POW} came out many centuries ago (okay not centuries). And since then, how many Batman movie have we seen?  Do you love CSI?  Well, I do. I watch the others, but I’m all about the original.  So, we have CSI this and CSI that. We have Law & Order this and Law & Order that.  

Other than Batman, we have a host of Saturday morning cartoons, and other shows, that have been turned into movies. There’s Superman, Spiderman, The Hulk, The Fantastic Four, Bewitched, The Brady Bunch, The Transformers, Inspector Gadget, Scooby-Doo, The Addams Family, Charlie’s Angels, Fat Albert, Lost in Space, Miami Vice, The Jetsons, The Muppet Show, The X-Files, The Beverly Hillbillies, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, The Twilight Zone, (taking a big breath here) Dragnet, Starsky and Hutch, Twin Peaks, Wayne’s World, Beavis and Butthead, The Transformers, Mission Impossible, Office Space, The Untouchables, Leave it to Beaver, The Flintstones, The Mod Squad, and the list goes on and on and on.  As a matter of fact, I’m sure you could name some that I’ve omitted.

My point is… Where are the writers? Where are the creators? Why is almost everything that is showing up on the big screen a remake or copy of something that was on the small screen? I honestly think these people are paying other people to sit in rooms that are filled with reels, and telling them to find something that can be re-made. Give me a break! Use your effin imagination and create something… something unique. ABC’s LOST was a unique television show that captured everyone’s interest and imagination, and I’m sure the copy-cat movie will be out any minute now.

Let’s see… what are some of the unique movies? Lost in Translation, Harry Potter, The Da Vinci Code, Independence Day, Click, Changing Lanes, The Matrix, As Good As It Gets, I Am Robot, Analyze This (and That), I Am Legend, The Incredibles, Pirates of the Caribbean, Jake’s Closet, Pulp Fiction– Some of these are silly, some are serious, but all are unique and capture our imagination.

I don’t know about you, but I really enjoy watching a good movie. However, I’m really getting annoyed because I know that this is just the beginning. Every time I turn on the tube, there sits another movie preview based on a show from before land (before I grew up, before I had taste, before I could drink, before I cared).

Come on movie people! Seriously, what gives? Stop giving up, and give us some unique and entertaining movies that we can sink our teeth into.

Thanks for reading!

Comments

