It's just my desk, so there's no telling what you might find on it.

At the risk of sounding un-American…

At the risk of sounding un-American, I feel the need to make a statement. If you are offended, I’m sorry, but that’s on you. This is just my opinion, and everyone has one.  On that note, I would love to know what you felt, feared, and what you remember about September 11, 2001.

September 11, 2001 was a traumatic and devastating time for all of us, except those that are against the American way of life.  When I turned on my TV that faithful day, I was frozen, and then devastated.  I felt tears rising and my heart clinching, but I was still unable to wrap my mind around the events I was watching unfold before me.  The United States of America was attacked!  We were attacked!  At that moment, in my heart, I believed we might possibly go to war.

The World Trade Center (WTC) Twin Towers of Southern Manhattan, and the Pentagon in Arlington County, Virginia, were hit.  This, we all know.  We know of the devastation, and we know of the pain.  One conspiracy theory after another began to surface as time passed. And as a nation, we had to come to terms with our past, as well as our future.

We are now at the 10 year anniversary of that horrible day, and there is one thing that still bothers me almost as much as the event itself: The selfish opinion that it was New York that was attacked.  That just isn’t true.

In the days that followed 9/11, there was much talk about the heroes of that day.  The brave people inside the buildings that tried to help others.  The brave fire fighters, rescue workers, and police officers that tried to save civilians as well as their own.  I am truly saddened by the enormous loss of life that occurred while these heroes worked diligently and tirelessly to save anyone they could.  But I, a non-New Yorker, am offended that New York officials and civilians claimed that this was an attack on New York. In the midst of this media onslaught, even the Pentagon was mentioned as a footnote.

I remember watching news coverage where specific officials, including Rudy Giuliani (nice career move), claimed that this was an attack on New York.  Many stated that this attack would not go unanswered.  More times than I care to remember, I heard from different sources, “New York has been attacked by terrorists, but we are all New Yorkers! You are all New Yorkers…!”  That statement alone takes the events of that day from ALL of us; and it also disregards many of the other victims of that day, including those at the Pentagon, those on the planes, and those at ground zero.  I’m sure harm was not intended in those statements, but New York was not attacked!  The United States of America was attacked!  MY home was attacked!  All of us were victims on that day, and those of us that were not at “ground zero”, are blessed to be survivors.

I pray that we never forget that dark day.  I pray that it remains etched in our memories for generations.  I pray that we can remember how we came together as one nation… one people.  But I also pray that our country’s leaders learned something… anything from those horrible events; and that they use that information to make this country more secure.  As in vain as it may be, that is my hope.

I am thankful for our men and women that have sacrificed to stand on the front lines to secure our freedom and peace of mind.

I mean no disrespect to the New York residents that fell that day, but my heart goes out to all of the families that were touched by this horror… whether they live in New York, or not.

¤*¨¨*¤.¸¸ …¸.¤\
\ 9/11 AMERICA \
.\¸.¤*¨¨*¤ .¸¸.¸.¤*
..\
☻/
/▌
/ \ ~~ I will NEVER forget!

Thank you for reading!

10 responses

  1. Well put Anita! You are absolutely right, America as a whole was attacked. I remember, I was at work and my sister called to tell me what was going on. I could hear people getting phone calls all over the office, and everyone talking about it. When I got home, my husband was recording the live news footage(we still have it all.) I didn’t realize how devastating this was, until I saw with my own eyes, what had transpired. I remember how earily quiet it was outside. Honestly, I don’t think I truely “wrapped my mind around the events”, as you put it, until watching the history channel last weekend. The specials they ran for the 10 year anniversary were unbelievable. Reminded me of that day, like it was yesterday. I know I for one will never forget.

    Like

    September 19, 2011 at 7:04 am

    • Anita

      Thanks, Sandy! I also remember it well, but to be honest, I still think I’m a little shocked. Who would expect a thing like this to happen to ALL of us as we go through our day? I guess we should have. After all, we (our officials) were warned by information and previous events.

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

      Like

      September 19, 2011 at 11:11 pm

  2. You go girl. You are right, it did not just attacked New York, it attacked AMERICA………….We are AMERICANS and we stand up for one another no matter what forces comes our way. We are proud to be an AMERICAN. I was at work at a fast food place called Jack In The Box on that dreadful day. I was just coming in from cleaning up the dining room when, I went into the office and seen the scenery on the TV that we had on top of the safe just off to the small room of the office. I was in complete shocked to think, that anyone has a brain to attack AMERICA…I will never forget that day as long as I live. It was on a Tuesday when that had happened. There are two songs that I like that talks about being an AMERICAN. I love both of them and they speak the truth about it as well.

    Like

    September 15, 2011 at 12:59 am

    • Anita

      Thanks, Teresa! I am very happy to know that I’m not the only one that feels this way (thus, the title). These great comments are proof of that. Thanks for reading!

      Like

      September 15, 2011 at 2:59 am

  3. Anita, I agree that the devastation did not just happen in New York, rather it affected all of American and all Americans. This showed that the borders of American can be penetrated by enemy attacks. It robbed Americans of security that we had felt for so long.

    Like

    September 12, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    • Anita

      Thanks for your comment, Carolyn!

      Like

      September 12, 2011 at 7:43 pm

  4. Marissa

    Great article! I remember hearing that in news footage, but I never really thought about it.
    Marissa!

    Like

    September 12, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    • Anita

      Thanks, Marissa!

      Like

      September 12, 2011 at 6:09 pm

  5. Yes – America was attacked, and will never be the same: From New York to the midwest, to California, to the north, to the south – everywhere. Our freedoms were attacked that day, and have never been restored.

    Like

    September 11, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    • Anita

      Hello, Tere! Thanks so much for commenting! And for the record, I completely agree!

      Like

      September 11, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Comments

