It's just my desk, so there's no telling what you might find on it.

Mailing a letter– Through my daughter’s eyes {UPDATE}

{Please see update after the story}

Recently, I have had the pleasure of watching my daughter reach yet another milestone in her life. So far, she has conquered each challenge with grace, and this simple little milestone was no different.

She is six years old, and has been writing notes and letters to me for a long time.  So, I decided it was time for her to write to one of her best friends.  Now, she had already sent an email to one of my good friends, but I’m talking about “old school” writing when pen (or pencil) actually does touch paper.  Scary thought… I know!

When I told her about this little endeavor, she jumped for joy, and continued jumping.  That’s her thing.  She was so excited that there was no way she could contain it.  So, I decided this needed to be a documented occasion.

As part of her studies, her assignment was to write a letter to one of her closest friends.  We chose a friend that lives down the street from us.  She even had to start jumping while writing the letter.  She just couldn’t contain herself!

Part 2 of her assignment was to address the envelope.  You know… those rectangular shaped things that bills arrive in.

Next, she had to get her change purse, and count out the amount of money needed for the stamp.  I admit, I had to look up that little bit of information online.  The total was 44 cents.

Now, we were finished for the day.  The next step would be to go to an actual post office, which we did the following day.

Her excitement was contagious!  The faces of everyone in line were covered with smiles and huge grins!  They couldn’t stop watching her perform little Tigger bounces as she progressed through the line.  No one was worried about the wait.  She was the star attraction for the day… A break from their monotony.

My daughter arrived at the counter, and of course, the woman began to leave her station.  She actually said, “I’ll be back in a few minutes.  You’ll need to wait for the next clerk.”  But when she saw my daughter’s face, she stopped suddenly, and said, “Hello, little lady.  How may I help you?”  This woman didn’t realize she had just saved her own life!  My daughter replied in the sweetest voice, “I would like to buy a stamp, please!  I have to mail a letter to my friend!”  Again, the jumping began, and I could hear giggles behind me!  The lady asked her if she wanted a stamp with the picture of a puppy, and my daughter replied, “Oh, yes!  Please!”  Yes, the total was 44 cents, and Baby Girl began counting it out.  The entire post office was covered with grins.  I was busy watching and taking pictures that I knew she would love to see afterwards.  The clerk smiled, gave her the stamp, and we proceeded to the drop off box. (She wanted to put it in herself, of course!)

Well, she mailed her first letter on Oct 5th (I, of course, have a copy), and now we wait.  I am too impatient for this!  As a matter of fact, I had to text the little girl’s parents because I couldn’t have this very special letter getting lost among the junk mail abyss.  But, I wanted my daughter’s friend to be surprised as well, so my text stated only, “Watch your mail for the next couple of days!”  It is now the 8th, and I can’t stand this waiting game!

Ironically, a friend of mine told me that her 6 yr old daughter had just written a letter to my daughter… the first of many, I hope.  Now, my excitement is even greater!  My daughter doesn’t know anything about this, so I’m anticipating her complete joy (and bounce factor) when she finds a letter in the mailbox from a friend she didn’t even know she had!  It’s driving me nuts!  At first, she’ll think it’s from her neighbor friend, and then she’ll say, “Huh?”  LOL!

Her joy is somehow connected to mine.  Even something as simple as mailing a letter has made me grin like crazy.  I love the look on her face, and the excitement in her voice!  I love watching new adventures play out through her beautiful, brown eyes… no matter how small the adventures seem to be.

I’ll post an update to this saga soon!

Thanks for reading!

Tigger Photo: http://millennium.fortunecity.com/soda/939/tigger.html

UPDATE: 

Well, I have the happiest baby girl EVER!  Today, Friday, Oct 14th, she received a letter from her neighbor friend and also from my friend’s daughter.  What?!  A letter from two different people on the same day?  Wow! This child flew up the driveway (dropping my mail) screaming, “Mommy, mommy!  I got a letter from a new friend!  I got a letter from a new friend!  I got a letter from two friends!”  I can’t even explain the joy and excitement that was on that little girl’s face.  And I am such a cool mommy (hehe), that I got the whole thing on video!  Oh yeah!  Needless to say, she bounced into the house to immediately read the letters from her friends, and she commented, “Mommy, I even got a letter from a friend I didn’t even know I have!  I’m so exciting! (She meant excited…lol)  Can I write back to them tonight?  Can I?  Can I?”

Well, that is the sweet beginning of my daughter’s pen pal life.  What started out as an assignment, has turned into something very pure and wonderful for her.  I am so happy for my baby, and I’m so thankful that she has two special friends that put one huge and long-lasting smile her face.

Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

 

 

8 responses

  1. N

    LOL – I had no idea so much joyful bouncing hinged on ‘when we got around to it.’ Readers have to know you to appreciate and laugh out loud at your post. “saved her own life” and “dropping my mail” haha

    Like

    October 18, 2011 at 8:34 am

    • Anita

      That’s true! I guess my hidden personality kinda slipped through a little bit, and truly, those that really know me would see the humor! Haha! And yes, that’s why I had to stay on you about it! I just couldn’t watch that little heart break.
      ~~Thanks, Neighbor N!

      Like

      October 18, 2011 at 2:27 pm

  2. Pingback: NOTICE: Update to “Mailing a letter– Through my Daughter’s Eyes « Anita's Desk…

  3. Oh, this is so sweet! 🙂 It’s been so long since I’ve gotten a real letter that I would probably be just as bouncy as your daughter if I got one. lol

    Like

    October 8, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    • Anita

      Aww, thank you! It was such an awesome experience (for both of us), and she’s still bouncing! I wouldn’t know what to do with myself if I got a real letter through snail mail. It might actually scare me! LOL!

      Like

      October 8, 2011 at 11:17 pm

  4. Pingback: Saturday Sharing: Martha Stewart, kitchen witchery, temporary marriage contracts and more! | I shall be a toad

  5. I can’t wait for your lil one to get Abby’s letter! And I can’t wait to hear all about it (both letters)!!!

    Like

    October 8, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    • Anita

      I know! Isn’t it exciting?! I can’t wait! I’m going nuts! I need the instant gratification of email to make its way to the post office. LOL! I showed her a pic of Baby Abby today, and I said, “This little sweetie pie is going to be your friend!” She said, “Really? How? Tell me! Tell me!”
      Me: Nope. It’s a surprise, and you’ll know soon enough!
      Her: I can’t wait! Tell me! Tell me! Mommy, stop teasing me! I can’t stand it.
      Me: I’ll only tell you this… That little baby girl is 6 yrs old, too.
      Her: Really?! Oh, my! Oh, my! I can’t wait! I can’t wait!
      LMBWO!

      Like

      October 8, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Comments

