It's just my desk, so there's no telling what you might find on it.

eBook or Print – Which do you fancy?

I’ve been an avid book reader all of my life, and reading has truly been my solace.  I never really got into small or pocket-sized paperbacks.  They just feel uncomfortable to me.  Larger were always my thing, especially hardbacks.  Nothing beats the feeling of cuddling up in my favorite chair, or getting all comfy in my bed, to prepare to be swept away by a great mystery or thriller.

Well, times have changed, but they haven’t really changed me.  I still prefer to curl up with a great printed book, open it to my bookmark, and start flipping pages.  There’s just something about having an actual book in my hands.  Yeah… I’m old school!

Now, technology has pushed us into the world of curling up with a hand-held device, and swiping a screen or pressing a button.  Honestly, that feels a little generic to me, but it has its advantages.  Ebook readers are lightweight, which makes them quite portable.  E-readers are also available on phones and tablets, so they’re very convenient.  Depending on your available device memory, you can tote around hundreds of titles on one little device.  Depending on your device, you may or may not need an external light source.  You can even read them on your computer.  There are many advantages, but these pros don’t really work for me if I’m at home when I choose to escape to another time and place.

I recently began writing two books… or rather, I began again.  When I first started these books (one fiction & one non-fiction), ebooks weren’t yet a reality.  I dreamed of seeing my books on prime bookshelves in prime bookstores.  I dreamed of seeing people say, “Hmmm, this looks interesting. I wonder what it’s about?”  I still have that dream, but now I have to think– Should I publish this in an ebook format? And, which one?

Personally, I believe having the ability to e-publish provides wonderful opportunities, especial for new authors.  Publishing books in electronic format can save time, cut out the middle man, and increase readership.  Isn’t that what authors want?

Recently, the majority of my time has been spent writing, and also networking on ebook sites.  I have discovered books and authors I otherwise would have missed.  These sites can be overwhelming, but they have definitely been a positive influence for me in that they keep me motivated.  What writer couldn’t use that, eh?

For me, printed books will remain the first choice.  Yes, ebooks are pretty cool and they are convenient; but in my humble opinion, nothing beats curling up with a good, hardback, printed book!

So… Which do you fancy?

Thanks for reading!

10 responses

  1. I must confess, I broke down and got a Kindle. But it’s the very basic version, so it has the “feel” of a book (no touch screen). It’s still not the same, but my husband pointed out that the next time we have to fly somewhere, I’m not going to check a bag because I need to bring 5 books with me. 🙂

    Like

    January 23, 2012 at 10:41 am

    • Anita

      Haha! Yep, you can take a pile of books with you in one little device. My eReader is also very basic without a touchscreen, but I like it because I can download ePub, pdf, whatever I want; except kindle and nook, of course. Luckily, many authors publish in several formats, so I’m not really missing out on anything.

      The convenience of a portable reading device is undeniable, but in my eyes, real books reign supreme! 🙂

      Like

      January 23, 2012 at 6:29 pm

  2. Would I prefer to own and read a book made from dead trees? Absolutely! It’s an old habit that goes back to when my age could be represented by a single digit. And the smell of a “real” book brings all of those old books I have read back to me.

    But an eReader let’s me take a whole library with me. In my case, that’s my phone. I can also download free books that I either always wanted to read (the classics) or those from new authors.

    eBooks will be the norm in the next few years. There will still be a place for print, but the percentage of sales for eBooks have increased greatly over the last few years. That is not good news for large brick-and-mortar retailers, but it is good news for everyone else.

    As an author, eBooks let me distribute my books to a wide audience. I would not have been able to do so a few years ago. I would have been shut out completely. Writers would be daft not to offer their books in electronic format.

    But (again with the but), when I hold a real, printed book of mine in my hands next month, I will finally feel like a real author.

    There is, and will always be (I hope), something special about a real book printed on paper. Bookstores may get smaller and more specialized, but they will continue to exist..and that’s a good thing too.

    Great question! By the way, I think that the person who develops a way to capture the smell of a printed book on eReaders, they will be rich beyond their wildest dreams!

    Splitter

    Like

    January 22, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    • Anita

      I couldn’t agree with you more, Splitter! Ebooks are here to stay for awhile (until something new & better comes along), but I truly believe the printed book is king and will remain so until the end of time. I have seen bookstore sales slowly decline, but I believe there will always be a place for them because of die-hard paper book readers. Nothing beats the feel and smell of a real book.

      From the author perspective, you’ve made an interesting point. Even if I published an ebook today, I still wouldn’t feel like a real author until my first book was available in print.

      Thanks so much for commenting!

      Like

      January 22, 2012 at 5:07 pm

  3. Print always and in fact I was quite the ebook hater. I now have a kindle and rarely have time to get to it. Having said that my hate for ebooks was fear that print would go away. Considering I could be with my kindle and I’m not I don’t see print going away nor should it. There should be room for both and yes for new authors ebooks are probably where the focus should be but a book book well there is no substitute.

    Like

    January 22, 2012 at 1:40 am

    • Anita

      Thanks for commenting, Jessica! I, too, hated even the concept of ebooks when they first came out. I’m rather ornery, so I refused to get one for the longest time. I finally did get a cheaper e-paper e-reader, that accepts all kinds of formats, because some of my new writer friends only published in electronic format. Getting a general reader kept me from getting stuck with only kindle or nook versions. I like it, but I will continue to prefer actual printed books.

      Like

      January 22, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  4. Topaz

    Reblogged this on Topaz’s Blog and commented:
    Books are the carriers of civilization.

    Like

    January 21, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    • Anita

      Thanks for the re-blog!

      Like

      January 21, 2012 at 10:50 pm

  5. For me it really depends. if it is just articles and short stories I like it electronically. if it is like textbooks I would rather have the printer version.

    Like

    January 21, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    • Anita

      I agree, Lisa. No doubt! Now, I know you’re the all-about-school study queen, but what about full-on novels? I’m guessing you’d prefer them in print as well. LOL! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

      January 21, 2012 at 10:57 pm

Comments

