It's just my desk, so there's no telling what you might find on it.

A Father’s Response to Teen Rebellion

Well, I was just a little curious about what you guys think about this.  A father, Tommy Jordon, from Charlotte, North Carolina had quite a unique response to his 15 year old daughter’s rebellion on facebook.  Hannah made a few comments with a few choice words, and Jordon posted his response on YouTube for the world to see. (See below)  So, watch the video and tell me… Did he go too far?

A little background without ruining the punchline:  Dad is an IT guy.  Daughter is a spoiled teen (ahem… I mean a typical teen.)  Dad had been working to upgrade daughter’s laptop.  Daughter had been writing nasty things about Dad on facebook.  Daughter thought she blocked Dad from seeing what she wrote.  I repeat… Dad is an IT guy.  Hahahahaha!

My response probably would have been just as permanent, without being quite so lethal.  But, I don’t know.  I do have some serious fire power, so you never know. LOL!

I’m a fun & funny mom (according to my daughter and her friends), but I’m also a tough mom. I say what I mean, I mean what I say, and I expect what I expect. So, if Baby Girl ever does anything like this (and she likely will because that’s what kids do), she wouldn’t like the result either.

This video is obviously going viral, and opinions are being drawn like battle lines.  This has become such a controversy that the local news even did a report on it.  And now, YouTube response videos are starting to pop up.  If you’re interested, you can also take a look at Jordon’s facebook post which also has a few panties in a wad.  Ironically, Jordon’s “friend me” popularity has risen to an all-time high.

So… Yay or nay?  Was he too extreme, or was he right on point?  Will his daughter learn anything from this?  Will he?  Was his reaction any better than her action?  Was that really her laptop?  What is his true motive for making this video, and does it have anything to do with punishing his daughter?  Was this a ploy to get fans for his facebook community page and professional website?  Is he trying to increase his readership, and sell a few e-books?  Watch the video and let me know what you think.

In a way, this seems like a publicity stunt to me. In his video, he comes across as a ticked off and fed up average Joe, but his online persona is completely different.  Well, the same could be said for most of us, right?

His video did make the news, and it has stirred up controversy, but I’m still undecided about the sincerity or reasoning behind making this video.  Jordon is now apparently receiving offers from TV and radio stations, as well as other media outlets.  I do believe this is turning into one huge snowball.  It could also be an advertisement for why children shouldn’t be on facebook.  Yeah!

Regarding my opinion– The whole thing could be exactly as it appears… or not.  I guess the future will tell the tale.  I do know this… If my daughter disrespected me like that, it would definitely be ON!

Thanks for reading!

Comments

