It's just my desk, so there's no telling what you might find on it.

Website vs Blog vs Domain! What?

mappa_blogOkay, I’ve had a few websites over the past few years.  They were all free because I just wasn’t (and I’m still not) willing to pay for something that I wasn’t sure about.  Through it all, I’ve always had a blog here on WP and on blogger.  Although, I haven’t touched blogger in a long, long time.

So, which is best?  Well, I guess that depends on your needs, and what you want to express.

I’ve recently (very recently) discovered that WP does offer a few more options than I realized.  Enough that maybe I can make it “look” more like a regular website.  Hmmm… Isn’t a blog already a regular “website”?  Well, a type of one anyway.

Decisions, decisions!  What to do?  I’m still at that where-do-I-want-to-hang-my-hat stage as I’m still trying out typical websites.  I like the available options… number of pics and vids, blogs, forums, members, etc, but finding a decent one these days is proving to be a little difficult.  I have one that I kind of like, but migrating through the management options is, at best, a test of true endurance.

Regardless, the general put-yourself-out-there options are increasing.  Since being introduced to a few published authors (who are fast becoming friends), I’ve discovered other sites that tend to link almost everything together– when they work, that is.  They are interesting, but for now, I think I’ll primarily stick with the status quo.

As if there weren’t enough decisions to make… Now, where do I add my domain name?  Blog?  Website?  Which domain site/company do I use, and what drama will I have to endure if I decide to switch the landing page to a different site?

We have a lot of choices out there, and some choices are better than others.  We independent writers and authors have to create an “online presence” and get our names and products out there.  So, choosing the best way to accomplish that is paramount.  I don’t intend for this post to be a these-are-the-best-sites post.  Instead, I’ll continue to try out a few options, and then I’ll let you know what I think based on my experience.

Happy reading, happy writing, and thanks for stopping by!

4 responses

  1. I have to say, I’ve been pretty happy with blogger, as far as having a home on the web. It took me hours upon hours to get it looking the way I want, but I think it looks great and is pretty functional. I change publishers, self-publish, and give updates about my WIPs – I can’t imagine having to fill out a “work order” and then waiting for an html guru to make changes to a static site.

    Honestly? I don’t want my site to be static. In addition to Blogger, I have MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Goodreads (and maybe a couple more?) that I make some attempt to keep current. I even gave up LiveJournal a few months ago and just direct those people to Blogger. Enough is enough, already.

    It will be interesting to find out what you decide to do.

    Like

    March 1, 2012 at 10:17 am

    • Anita

      ‘Tis true! ‘Tis true! I have followed a similar path as yours. I started using blogger first, but at the time, it felt a little limited. I have seen several blogger blogs recently that look wonderful. That tells me Google has made some significant improvements.

      For me, it’s really blog vs typical website. The more functionality I can find on WP, the less desire I’ll have to leave. Well, not leave, but use less. Like you, I have pages all over the place, and enough is truly enough! I haven’t even been to myspace in ages! Are they still there? LOL!

      Like

      March 1, 2012 at 2:09 pm

  2. A blog is just a special database on a hosted domain/website. That is all mine is. I decided to put my blog AS my domain name. My other two domains are different kinds of stuff, but on the cabingoddess all I am planning on doing is hosting a blog there. Many folks are using wordpress as a way to launch a website, just he design differs on how you set it up will make look like one. Having it as a database is a plus in many ways. Despite the problems I am having, this is the first time in over five years I have had any problems like this. Mine was corruption from someone else bad code!

    Personally, and I have both the free wordpress.com site and my own self hosted site at Cabin Goddess plus the domain which hosts my photography portfolio, a blog and member pages for a photography forum.. I just like owning my stuff and having the plugins and the freedom to design.

    Like

    March 1, 2012 at 12:08 am

    • Anita

      I hear ya, Kriss! Our options are endless, but owning our stuff is king! I am in the process of changing my WP around to better suit me. Hopefully, I can get that done soon, and I’ll feel better about it.

      I hope you get your site issues fixed soon. That can be quite draining and frustrating.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

      March 1, 2012 at 12:59 am

Comments

