It's just my desk, so there's no telling what you might find on it.

Life is Hard… Get Organized: EfficientPIM Review

I haven’t posted here in a while.  Life has overwhelmed me with one thing after another– including major surgery. (More on that in an separate post.)  However, my point is this… When life gets crazy, we usually need a little help pulling it all together.

Managing thoughts, appointments, and life’s out-of-control happenings can be challenging enough when life is “normal”.  But, all of that can be especially difficult to wrangle when life has jumped a little to the left of normal.  During my journey to find one program to wrangle all chaos, I came across EfficientPIM.

Why am I writing about this program?  I am a super-busy, single mom, and I’m one of those people who needs to keep precise records about almost everything.  To that end, I had been on a wild search for a completely functional and user-friendly calendar/journal for a long, long, long time.  My recent experiences made this need critical.

Like many people, I use Google Calendar as a matter of convenience while I continued to look for something better equipped to handle my needs.  I came across a program similar to Efficient’s, but it had no support, and the programmers/creators seem to have abandoned the project.  I thought I would never find the answer until I ran across EfficientPIM (personal information manager).  Happy dance!  Almost.

I can do a lot with this program.

  • Organize my thoughts and plans in the diary/journal.
  • Create recurring tasks and events with reminders.
  • Store sensitive information in the Password Manager.
  • Keep separate contacts.
  • Attach related contacts to notes, events, etc.
  • Add pictures to contacts, events, notes, etc.

There are multiple ways to view upcoming events, such as today mode, and the program offers several interface styles to suit any mood. Many features are available including customizable Desktop “Sticky” Notes.  Oh, yeah!  Here’s what Efficient Software has to say:

“EfficientPIM is a full-featured personal information manager (PIM) software program that can help you organize and plan your business and private life. With EfficientPIM you can keep track of contacts, appointments, tasks, to-do lists, birthdays, and much more. The program also gives you space for keeping notes, diaries, and even passwords. In order to be successful you need to be organized and efficient. With EfficientPIM all of the things you need to manage are located in one, easy-to-use interface.”

Efficient Software has many products available.  If you need something more specific for your home or business, I’m sure they have a product that will meet your needs.  Also available are the Efficient Lady’s Organizer and the Efficient Man’s Organizer.  These programs offer a variety of interface choices to suit a man’s or a lady’s specific visual taste.  Personally, I’m quite happy with the standard version.

If you need a product that’s “go” ready, the portable version may be just what you need.  Several users?  The Network Addition is for you. If you just want one or two of the features, you can purchase what you need separately.  Each product has a 30-day free trial, and free versions of the software are also available.

Currently, there isn’t a way to sync with Google Calendar or similar programs.  However, you can import comma delimited files with the .csv or .txt extensions.  You can also export files in either the .csv or html formats.  A mobile app is also not available at the moment.  Sad, I know.  These are the only real cons I could find in the midst of the pros, but they are pretty big cons.  But hey… you never know what’s going to happen in future updates.

Check out the links, and see what Efficient Software may have available to meet your needs.

RATING: 3.75 out of 5 paperclips  (If they decide to include the ability to sync with major calendar programs, or include a mobile app, the rating will be higher.)

Thanks for reading!

EfficientPIM  Efficient Software

Comments

