It's just my desk, so there's no telling what you might find on it.

The Giraffe Challenge: Who is right?

Baby GiraffeOkay, I’ve had a little fun with this one.  I’m normally not so social, especially all in one day, but I had fun with this challenge.  You know the one– The Giraffe Challenge.  You’ve probably noticed many facebook friends changing their profile pics, but if you’re not playing along, you may not know why.  Yeah, it’s just a stinky riddle, but I’d rather concentrate on this instead of all the problems in my life.  Yep, this was a welcomed diversion.  Many people are writing about this, but several people wanted to know my thoughts.  So, here they are. ****SPOILER ALERT**** 

This Giraffe Challenge has gone viral.  It has also caused a little controversy.  One reason is because the riddle itself bears a strong resemblance to two different riddles from long ago.

Here’s what happens: Someone posts on facebook saying he or she had the incorrect answer to a riddle and had to change the profile picture to a giraffe.  Here’s the gist of the post:

“Try the great giraffe challenge. I will give you a riddle. If you get it right, you keep your profile picture. If you get it wrong, you must change your profile picture to a giraffe for 3 days.

Message me with your answer, and I’ll let you know if you got it right. Please do not give out the answer in your comments. Here is the riddle:

It’s 3 a.m. The doorbell rings, and you wake up.  Unexpected visitors.  It’s your parents, and they want breakfast.  You have strawberry jam, honey, wine, bread, and cheese. What is the first thing you open?

Remember, message me with your answer.  If you get it right, I’ll post your name here.  If you get it wrong, you must change your profile picture!  Good luck!”

I hate to tell you this (not really), but the official answer to THIS specific riddle, with this specific wording, is WRONG!  Haha… wait… hmmm. Or, is it?  The “official” answer is “your eyes”.  Is that correct, or are those who came up with a different answer just whining?  Of the two older jokes, the answer to one was the fridge, and the answer to the other was your eyes.  But, the wording to each was slightly different.  But, does this copycat version stand on its own?

Now, when I played along with this, I was in a really silly mood, and decided to create a wonderfully epic story to answer the riddle. (Only a couple of peeps got that message.)  In doing so, I used another widely accepted answer along with ‘eyes’. My epic tale began with the DOOR, and ending with the EYES.  (Of course, I added that I would never answer the door anyway because I’m anti-social. 🙂 )  Yes, several folks chose “door” as their answer, and that is correct– technically… uh… also.  But, not really.

I love a good fight, but I wasn’t necessarily in the mood to start a facebook war over this little thing– not yesterday, anyway.  I just played along, and that’s one reason I decided to create an interesting story as my answer. (Yes, I already said I was in a weird mood.)  I really just wanted to join in on the silliness, and have a good time with a few of my friends.  Okay, so I’m social once or twice a year.  Pfft.

Here’s my thing… The riddle says:  It’s 3 a.m. The doorbell rings, and you wake up.”  Well, there it is.  Before you get to the meat of the riddle, the first sentence already has you awake which means your eyes are already open BEFORE anything else happens, and before you know it’s your parents.  But, the riddle never said you actually opened the door.  It’s all in the wording. No?  Okay, how about this… The entire riddle is in the present tense, and from the very beginning, the absolute first thing you do is wake up.  You OPEN YOUR EYES.  Ah-ha!  But doesn’t this just prove what I said above anyway?  😀

Yes, I’m still in a silly mood, but still… If you want to get even more technical (or ridiculous), you also know it’s your parents at the door, so technically, you’ve already opened your eyes and opened the door– unless you chose to yell through the door to find out who is there.  Or, maybe you yelled out a window. But did you open the window?  Maybe your parents just yelled, “It’s your parents!  We know you’re in there!  Open up!”  In that case, you haven’t opened the door yet.  And, what about the fridge door?  Isn’t that the answer in a previous, and almost exact riddle?  YES! Yes, it is!  Sigh~~ Three correct answers?  (Yes, I am stirring stuff up.)  UPDATE: A fb friend just reminded me that there is also the bedroom door to consider.  He says his is always closed (as is mine).  He adds, “The ones who are b****ing are the ones who thought they nailed it and never considered their eyes.”  Do you agree?

Yep, it’s all in the wording, and your answer could be 1 of 3 depending on your view of the written facts (especially if you remember the older riddles).   However, no riddle should have this many holes in it.  But, in this case, the holes are really just perceptions and opinions. This is a grammar and a logic thing which is why I got into it, but it is what it is.  The very, very, very first thing you open is your eyes.  The riddle didn’t say… What is the first thing you opened?  It said, “What is the first thing you open?”, and therein lies the controversy.  Now, it’s out of my system, but I know it won’t really be over until this one is long forgotten.

Regardless of what you think, just have a little fun with it, and don’t take it so seriously.  (Yes, some folks have their undies in a bunch.) Also, don’t fall for the hacker theory which has shown up during this, and shows up every time someone tries to have a little fun.  This also isn’t about supporting a cause.  Push that mess to the side, move on, and just have a little fun.  🙂

What was the best thing about this riddle going viral?  It changed the “feel” of fb for a while.  There was less political poop and stink, and much more fun conversation.  That, I can appreciate.

So, what do you think?  Let me know!

Other Opinions:

The Great Giraffe Challenge Inconsistency

Giraffe riddle: Why you’re probably answering the Facebook riddle wrong

Facebook giraffe riddle: why are your friends changing their profile pictures?

Here’s Why Your Facebook Friends Have Become Giraffes

There was also a video (yes, really), but I saw no reason to link to that. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by and happy reading!

2 responses

  1. I didn’t play the riddle. My answer would have been The Door which someone told me was wrong. I still think it’s right. Sure, maybe your eyes could be right, but what if you sleep with your eyes open. Huh? Then eyes would not be the right answer. And sleep with your bedroom door open. And looked through the peep hole to see it is your parents.

    There are too many possible right answers so while I’m glad so many people enjoyed playing this little game, I’m glad I didn’t. It would have pissed me off! Lol.

    Like

    October 29, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    • Hahaha! Well, how about this… I’m never asleep at that time, so I would already be awake when the parents pulled their drop-in. Hahaha! Thanks so much for commenting, A.B. 🙂

      Like

      October 29, 2013 at 7:25 pm

Comments

