It's just my desk, so there's no telling what you might find on it.

Snow Day for Homeschool? #homeschool

Marge and Lisa - Snow DayHonestly… Who left the barn door open!?!?

I was going to write about something else regarding homeschooling, but I just can’t wrap my head around our current situation.

I homeschool my daughter, and as I’m sure you’re aware, this is one brutal winter. We usually experience rather mild winters around here in the TN area. Usually, our biggest concern is tornadoes. But, this winter is definitely something to write home about… if your fingers aren’t icicles, that is.

My daughter was bouncing around and laughing about the local school closures.  I said to her, “I don’t know why you’re so happy. You’re homeschooled.”  She said, “Oh, it’s just funny ’cause I know kids are excited.”  Well, I guess she also had a good reason to be excited after all.

The temperatures have been unforgiving as even the daytime temps have been in the single digits. Highs of 8 degrees (if we were lucky), and lows below zero.  Many homes in our area have been without power. So far, we’ve been lucky there. However, we did wake up to frozen water lines this morning even though I’ve been diligent about the drip-drip and exposing the pipes.  The problem is that our house is freezing!  FREEZING!  It’s an older house, and it isn’t exactly ‘sealed’ against the outside elements.  So, even when the heat is on, it simply travels through the cracks around windows, doors, and other places, leaving me to turn up the dial; and thus, increase the electric bill to elevated proportions.  Since the electric bill would be so high, I’ve had to resort to only heating our bedrooms. So, the rest of the house, including the kitchen and living room, is insanely cold (even with industrial plastic on some of the windows).

This has caused an unforeseen problem. We’re so cold that teaching (and learning) has become rather impossible.  Even as I write this, there is a candle on my desk for the sole purpose of warming my fingers so I can type. Not just to write this, but also to pay bills, create lessons and lesson plans, record-keeping, and all of the other terribly fun stuff.  (I had to take several breaks while writing this.)

Yes, I could take my frozen computers and text books into my bedroom, and I could teach from there. Many homeschooling families have even less space than I do, so it is possible. I just don’t want to. So, there. 🙂 We are still doing the bible study portion, and we are doing that in the bedrooms. We are also still having the arts and crafts (currently knitting) class in the bedrooms, but the rest is just going to have to wait… Wait until the easels, boards, and tons of books and notebooks wouldn’t have to take over my room… Wait until I can teach without having to run to the bedroom to get warm… Wait until my baby can learn without her teeth chattering.

So, here’s to an extended Christmas and birthday vacation! YAY! We’ll just have to play catch up later… when it’s warmer– just a little warmer.  For now, we’ll read even more together (which is still part of her studies), we’ll spend even more time cuddling during these bitter cold days and nights, and we’ll spend even more time laughing, playing, and enjoying our time together. Well, we can do that because we homeschool, and we do it year-round! 🙂

What are you doing to get through this winter?

Your comments are welcome!

Thanks for reading!

P.S. Please remember to keep the homeless and struggling families in your prayers. Not only during this extremely cold season, but always. If you’re able to help out in some way, please consider doing so. Thank you! 

Interested in reading a little about paying it forward? Check out my post on Grace Plus Faith!

2 responses

  1. The benefits of homeschooling! 🙂

    Like

    February 8, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    • Indeed! 🙂

      Like

      February 8, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Comments

